Things To Know Before Visiting Seoul

Seoul

City map to come!
AIRPORT

Incheon International Airport (ICN)
Address: Jung-gu Incheon 272 Gonghang-ro
Tel: +82 1577-2600
www.airport.kr

To check status of arrivals: https://www.airport.kr/ap/en/arr/arrPasSchList.do
To check status of departures: https://www.airport.kr/ap/en/dep/depPasSchList.do

The Incheon International Airport has been ranked the Best Airport Worldwide for the past 11 consecutive years by the Airports Council International (ACI). It is the largest airport in South Korea, consisting of 2 terminals and is the primary airport serving Seoul. Incheon Airport is located west of Incheon city and 30 miles west of Seoul.

The distance between Incheon International Airport and COEX Center and surrounding hotels is approximately 70.4 km (43.7 miles) and about a 53 minutes drive.

Ground transportation

There are several ways to commute to and from the airport and downtown Seoul:

Arex (train)
There are 2 types of Arex trains:

  • The All Stop train, which departs from Terminal 2 and takes 58 minutes to arrive to downtown Seoul: ~$3.60 USD/pp **
  • The Express train, which departs from Terminal 1 and 2 and takes 45 minutes to arrive to downtown Seoul: ~$7 USD/pp **

Each train will take you to Seoul Station where you will then have to take a subway, bus or taxi to your hotel in the Gangnam area.

Private Airport Transfer
For ~$28 USD/pp (prices subject to change), you can book a private vehicle and be picked up at Incheon Airport and dropped off at your hotel. The English-speaking driver will greet you at the arrival gate upon arrival and at the hotel lobby for your return. The vehicle can accommodate anywhere between 1-6 people plus 1 small to medium sized luggage each. Please make sure to book your private transfer more than 24 hours in advance: www.koreatraveleasy.com

Bus
There are 2 types of buses:

  • The Deluxe Limousine Bus (~$12-$14 USD/pp): more expensive but has fewer stops and buses operate to major hotels
  • The Standard Limousine Bus (~$7-$8 USD/pp): is crowded and has more stops than the Deluxe Limousine Bus but can get you closer to your final destination

Transit time can take up to 1.5 – 2 hrs to arrive downtown.

Taxi
For international taxis (English-speaking driver): flat fare of ~$48-$66 USD
For regular taxis: fare is anywhere between $52-$88 USD

The taxi stand is found by following the taxi signs once exiting the Passenger Terminal. Average time takes anywhere between 60-70 minutes from Incheon Airport to downtown Seoul. Please note that a night surcharge (+20% to the initial fare) is applied between midnight and 4:00 am.

** The estimated fees may vary.

CURRENCY

Korea's official monetary unit is the won (₩, KRW).

Please click here to view live currency exchange rate.

Money exchange:
When you need to exchange your foreign currency into Korean won, visit a bank or authorized exchange service centers.

Credit Card:
Most businesses in Korea widely accept payment by credit cards, including major hotels, department stores and shops. Be sure check the service availability before making any purchases.

ATM:
Global ATMs exclusively for international travelers are readily available for those who need to withdraw cash in Korean won.

Traveler’s check:
Traveler's checks can be exchanged for cash at banks or exchange booths; however, very few stores accept checks these days.

BUSINESS HOURS

Banks:

Weekdays: 09:00–16:00
Exceptions: Standard Chartered Bank - weekdays 09:30–16:30
Everrich Bank - weekdays 09:00–16:30
Closed on: weekends & public holidays

Department Stores:

Monday–Thursday: 10:30–20:00
Friday–Sunday: 10:30–20:30

Operating hours may vary according to store policy.
ELECTRICITY/VOLTAGE
The standard voltage in Korea is 220 volts. The outlet has two round holes and is the same type as what is used in countries such as France, Germany, Austria, Greece, and Turkey. If you do not have a travel adapter, you can always borrow one from your hotel's front desk. It is also available for purchase in duty-free shops or convenience stores at Incheon International Airport.
HELPFUL NUMBERS

Make sure to have some of these numbers registered on your mobile in case of emergency situations or to ask assistance while traveling:

Korea Travel Hotline: 1330
Available 24/7, you can call for assistance for any travel related issues or complaints when in Korea. Service is offered in Korean, English, Japanese, and Chinese.

Emergency calls:
Police Department . . . . . . 112
Fire Department . . . . . . . . 119
Medical Emergencies . . . . 1339

How to call Korea
IDD (international direct dialing) +
Korea country code: 82 +
Seoul area code: 2+
Area Code +
Tel. number

TIME DIFFERENCE
REGION SEOUL 09:00 SEOUL 12:00 SEOUL 17:00
ASIA
Bangkok 07:00 10:00 15:00
Calcutta 05:30 08:30 13:30
Hong Kong 08:00 11:00 16:00
Jakarta 07:00 10:00 15:00
Kuala Lumpur 08:00 11:00 16:00
Kuwait 03:00 06:00 11:00
New Delhi 05:30 08:30 13:30
Manila 08:00 11:00 16:00
Singapore 08:00 11:00 16:00
Taipei 08:00 11:00 16:00
Tehran 03:30 06:30 11:30
Tokyo 09:00 12:00 05:00
EUROPE
Amsterdam 01:00 04:00 09:00
Hamburg 01:00 04:00 09:00
London 12:00 03:00 08:00
Paris 01:00 04:00 09:00
Rome 01:00 04:00 09:00
NORTH AMERICA
Chicago 18:00 (previous day) 21:00 (previous day) 02:00
Houston 18:00 (previous day) 21:00 (previous day) 02:00
Los Angeles 16:00 (previous day) 19:00 (previous day) 00:00
Montreal 19:00 (previous day) 22:00 (previous day) 03:00
New York 19:00 (previous day) 22:00 (previous day) 03:00
Toronto 19:00 (previous day) 22:00 (previous day) 03:00
San Francisco 16:00 (previous day) 19:00 (previous day) 00:00
Seattle 16:00 (previous day) 19:00 (previous day) 00:00
Vancouver 16:00 (previous day) 19:00 (previous day) 00:00
SOUTH AMERICA
Bogota 19:00 (previous day) 22:00 (previous day) 03:00
Buenos Aires 21:00 (previous day) 00:00 05:00
Rio de Janeiro 21:00 (previous day) 00:00 05:00
OCEANIA
Melbourne 11:00 14:00 19:00
Sydney 11:00 14:00 19:00
Secure Environment
Seoul has earned a reputation as a city with a high level of safety, security, and sanitation. Seoul operates the Seoul Global Center to provide various services to visitors, a medical Referral Service for foreigners, and the Call Center providing services in multiple languages to minimize inconvenience to foreigners. Most services and facilities are available 24 hours.
Transportation

Korea's reliable public transportation can take you from one point to another with ease. From express trains, subways, and buses – Korea’s public transportation is practical, convenient and on time.

Purchase a transportation card
To avoid having to buy a ticket each time you take the subway or search for coins and bills when paying taxis and buses, a transportation card is a must-buy! You can buy or recharge them in several stations or convenience stores.

Look for international taxis
Taxis in Korea are super convenient, safe, and are often cheaper than those in other countries. International taxis are available in major cities and drivers can usually converse in English, Japanese, or Chinese.

VISA

Foreign nationals entering Korea are generally required to have a valid passport and a Korean visa; however, some countries are permitted visa free under certain conditions (see table below).

Designated countries and regions are granted visa-free entry to Korea are allowed to stay in Korea for the purposes of tourism and visitation only, based on 30 or 90 days:

REGIONS 30 DAYS 90 DAYS 6 MONTHS
Asia Brunei, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Oman, United Arab Emirates Japan, Hong Kong, Macao, Taiwan, Kuwait, Bahrain
North America United States Canada
South America Argentina, Honduras, Paraguay, Ecuador, Guyana Uruguay
Europe Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, Cyprus, Albania, Croatia, Vatican, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Serbia, Montenegro Slovenia/td>
Oceania Guam, Fiji, Nauru, Palau, Marshall Islands, Solomon Islands, Micronesia, New Caledonia, Samoa, Tuvalu, Tonga Australia
Africa Republic of South Africa, Mauritius, Seychelles, Swaziland, Egypt

For more information regarding your visa, please visit the following website:

WEATHER

All four seasons can be enjoyed in Korea. Summer starts in June and ends in August, Autumn begins in September. September is typically the 4th warmest month of the year. Total hours of sunlight 7.2.

Average weather in September:
  • Nighttime Minimum Temperature: 16C / 61F
  • Daytime Maximum Temperature: 25C / 77F
  • Precipitation (mm): 137.6